H.R. No. 541

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Lois Steele Newsom of Donie is an outstanding Texan
- 2 who has touched the lives of many people with her kind and caring
- 3 ways; and
- WHEREAS, Born in Streetman on December 1, 1930, the former
- 5 Lois Steele married Ray Newsom on June 23, 1951, and has lived in
- 6 Donie for more than 50 years; throughout her life, she has been a
- 7 dedicated homemaker and hostess who keeps a spotless house and
- 8 loves to garden and cook; she takes special pleasure in sharing her
- 9 baked goods with others and is well-known for her delicious apple
- 10 pie made from scratch; and
- 11 WHEREAS, This proud mother and grandmother enjoys the love
- 12 and affection of her two daughters, Nina Manor and her husband,
- 13 Elbert, and Jan Baker and her husband, David, her five
- 14 grandchildren, Roger, Dan, Brooklyn, Bryson, and Lauren, her
- 15 sister, LeAnn Smith, her brother, Billy Steele, her two nieces,
- 16 Sherry Gonzales and Donna Phillips, and her nephew, State
- 17 Representative Todd Smith; moreover, she has counted Beulah Gilliam
- 18 as her best friend for many years; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Mrs. Newsom is a valued member of the First Baptist
- 20 Church of Donie; in addition to her other activities, she takes a
- 21 strong interest in political issues and makes it a point to stay
- 22 current with the latest developments; and
- WHEREAS, Blessed with a devoted family and admiring friends,
- 24 Lois Newsom has long been a source of joy and inspiration to all

H.R. No. 541

- 1 those fortunate enough to share in the richness of her life; now,
- 2 therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby honor a beloved Texan, Lois Steele Newsom; and,
- 5 be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Mrs. Newsom as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Smith of Tarrant

1
- 1

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 541 was adopted by the House on March 3, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House