H.R. No. 564

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The football team of Byron P. Steele II High School
- 2 in Cibolo won the University Interscholastic League 5A Division II
- 3 state championship on December 18, 2010, with a hard-fought 24-21
- 4 victory over Guyer High School of Denton; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The Knights held a talented Guyer team to its
- 6 second-lowest point total of the season to claim the title in front
- 7 of nearly 38,000 fans at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington; Steele High
- 8 running back Malcolm Brown scored his third touchdown with just
- 9 2:33 left in the game to overcome a 21-17 deficit; he also rushed
- 10 for 112 yards and was named offensive most valuable player of the
- 11 game; Kwame Clark sealed the victory with an interception that
- 12 ended Guyer's final drive; and
- WHEREAS, Under the guidance of head coach Michael Jinks and
- 14 his staff, the Knights won their last 13 games of the season to
- 15 finish with a 14-2 record; as a result of its exceptional play, the
- 16 team achieved national prominence with a rating of number 49 in the
- 17 country in the final Powerade Fab 50 rankings from ESPN Rise; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship is the culmination of
- 19 countless hours of hard work and an unwavering commitment to
- 20 excellence, and these dedicated student-athletes may take
- 21 justifiable pride in their outstanding accomplishment; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate the Byron P. Steele II High School

H.R. No. 564

- 1 football team on winning the UIL 5A Division II state championship
- 2 and extend sincere best wishes to the players, coaches, and staff
- 3 for continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Kuempel

## H.R. No. 564

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 564
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 564 was 2011, by a non-record vote.	as adopted by the House on March 3,
zorr, by a non record voce.	
	Chief Clerk of the House