H.R. No. 566

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The 2010 University Interscholastic League 2A
- 2 Division 2 football championship belongs to the Wildcats of Idalou
- 3 High School after their 20-3 victory over Lexington High School in
- 4 the title game on December 18, 2010; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Closing out their 12th consecutive playoff
- 6 appearance, the Wildcats met the previously undefeated Lexington
- 7 Eagles at Vernon Newsom Stadium in Mansfield and held them to a
- 8 single field goal; this was a notable achievement as the
- 9 high-flying Lexington team had been averaging 40 points per game
- 10 this season; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The unforgettable 2010 campaign included six
- 12 straight victories in the regular season, which allowed Idalou to
- 13 seize the district title; in the playoffs, the team's combination
- 14 of stout defense and powerful offense continued to dominate
- 15 opponents; the Wildcats won by at least 17 points in each contest
- 16 and gave up just one touchdown in five games; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Winning with a true team effort, the Wildcats
- 18 received valuable contributions from each member of the roster:
- 19 Bradley Adkins, Ethan Arismendez, Nathan Bell, Josh Caffey, Ryan
- 20 Calvillo, Tyler Cook, Blake Davis, Tyler Dowdy, Alec Estes, Nick
- 21 Gary, Brady Gunter, Kale Johnson, Tylo Kirkpatrick, Kaden Lackey,
- 22 McCrae McCormick, Logan Mulanax, Aaron Ochoa, Riley Payne, Aaron
- 23 Peralez, Nick Piseno, Seth Reagan, Joseph Rodriguez, Matthew Sales,
- 24 Bryce Schilling, Kaden Sikes, Garett Sosa, Derick Spargo, Dakota

H.R. No. 566

- 1 Sparks, Brent Turner, and Kase Wilbanks; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Head coach Johnny Taylor was ably assisted by
- 3 Matthew Brown, Jack Cheek, Garrett Heard, Tyler Helms, Jeff Lofton,
- 4 Don Long, Gaines Magee, Russ Reagan, Mark Turner, and Newt Wheeler;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, Through hard work and an enduring commitment to
- 7 excellence, the Idalou High football team reached the ultimate
- 8 level of success during 2010, and these skilled athletes may take
- 9 justifiable pride in this accomplishment; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby congratulate the Idalou High School football
- 12 team on winning the UIL 2A Division 2 state championship and commend
- 13 the players and coaches for their fine work during a title-winning
- 14 season; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 17 House of Representatives.

Perry

H.R. No. 566

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 566 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House