H.R. No. 569

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Southern University football team won the
- 2 2010 Southwestern Athletic Conference championship with a victory
- 3 over Alabama State University on December 11; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Playing at storied Legion Field in Birmingham,
- 5 Alabama, the Tigers made a supreme defensive effort in their 11-6
- 6 win over the SWAC Eastern Division champions, holding Alabama State
- 7 to just 72 yards of offense and also scoring on a safety in the first
- 8 half; TSU got its other points from a Martin Gilbert touchdown run
- 9 in the first quarter and a Robert Hersh field goal in the second;
- 10 Riko Smalls, the TSU quarterback, was named Offensive Player of the
- 11 Game; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The Tigers had an impressive 8-1 conference record
- 13 during 2010 and secured the Western Division title with a thrilling
- 14 come-from-behind victory over Grambling State University that saw
- 15 TSU rally from a 17-point deficit in the fourth quarter; the team
- 16 held opponents to just 131 points in conference play, the best in
- 17 the SWAC; because of its ability to turn up the heat on opponents,
- 18 the defense became known as the "212," in reference to the boiling
- 19 point of water; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Marcus Wright and Charles Smith were named to the
- 21 all-SWAC first team on offense, while Skylar Trimble and Kirk
- 22 Fitzhugh made the second offensive team, and William Osborne was
- 23 selected to the second team for his special teams play; on the
- 24 defensive side of the ball, Marquis Jackson, Jonathan Hollins, Zack

H.R. No. 569

- 1 Gallow, and Dejuan Fulman were first-team all-SWAC, and Shomari
- 2 Clemons was named to the second team; Mr. Fulman was named the
- 3 conference's Defensive Player of the Year, and Johnnie Cole was
- 4 chosen as its Coach of the Year after leading the school to its
- 5 first SWAC title in 42 years; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Through hard work and an enduring commitment to
- 7 excellence, the Texas Southern University football team achieved an
- 8 admirable level of success during 2010, and these skilled athletes
- 9 and their coaches may take justifiable pride in this
- 10 accomplishment; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas Southern University
- 13 football team on winning the 2010 Southwestern Athletic Conference
- 14 championship and commend the players and coaches for their fine
- 15 work during a title-winning season; and, be it further
- 16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 18 House of Representatives.

Coleman

## H.R. No. 569

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 569
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 569 was 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House