By: Coleman

H.R. No. 569

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas Southern University football team won the
2010 Southwestern Athletic Conference championship with a victory
over Alabama State University on December 11; and

WHEREAS, Playing at storied Legion Field in Birmingham, 4 5 Alabama, the Tigers made a supreme defensive effort in their 11-6 win over the SWAC Eastern Division champions, holding Alabama State 6 7 to just 72 yards of offense and also scoring on a safety in the first half; TSU got its other points from a Martin Gilbert touchdown run 8 9 in the first quarter and a Robert Hersh field goal in the second; Riko Smalls, the TSU quarterback, was named Offensive Player of the 10 11 Game; and

12 WHEREAS, The Tigers had an impressive 8-1 conference record during 2010 and secured the Western Division title with a thrilling 13 14 come-from-behind victory over Grambling State University that saw TSU rally from a 17-point deficit in the fourth quarter; the team 15 16 held opponents to just 131 points in conference play, the best in the SWAC; because of its ability to turn up the heat on opponents, 17 the defense became known as the "212," in reference to the boiling 18 point of water; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Marcus Wright and Charles Smith were named to the 21 all-SWAC first team on offense, while Skylar Trimble and Kirk 22 Fitzhugh made the second offensive team, and William Osborne was 23 selected to the second team for his special teams play; on the 24 defensive side of the ball, Marquis Jackson, Jonathan Hollins, Zack

1

H.R. No. 569

Gallow, and Dejuan Fulman were first-team all-SWAC, and Shomari Clemons was named to the second team; Mr. Fulman was named the conference's Defensive Player of the Year, and Johnnie Cole was chosen as its Coach of the Year after leading the school to its first SWAC title in 42 years; and

6 WHEREAS, Through hard work and an enduring commitment to 7 excellence, the Texas Southern University football team achieved an 8 admirable level of success during 2010, and these skilled athletes 9 and their coaches may take justifiable pride in this 10 accomplishment; now, therefore, be it

11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 12 Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas Southern University 13 football team on winning the 2010 Southwestern Athletic Conference 14 championship and commend the players and coaches for their fine 15 work during a title-winning season; and, be it further

16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 17 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 18 House of Representatives.

2