RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas State Guard is celebrating the 70th

2 anniversary of its founding in 2011; and

3 WHEREAS, Originally called the Texas Defense Guard, this

4 branch of the Texas military forces was authorized by the Defense

5 Act (House Bill 45), which was signed into law by Governor Pappy

6 O'Daniel on February 10, 1941; created to take the place of the

7 National Guard units being mobilized for the war effort, the Texas

8 State Guard has since evolved into a rapidly deployable emergency

9 action force that is ready to respond at a moment's notice to

10 natural and man-made disasters; this capability is in keeping with

11 its mandate to provide a mission-ready volunteer force for service

12 to the Lone Star State; and

13 WHEREAS, The individual units of the Texas State Guard are

14 the 4th and 5th Air Wings, the Maritime Regiment, the Texas Medical

15 Brigade, and six regional regiments: The 1st, nicknamed the Alamo

16 Guards, the 2nd, called the Austin Greys, the 4th, known as the

17 Panther City Fencibles, the 8th, Terry's Texas Rangers, the 19th,

18 Parson's Brigade, and the 39th, the Roughnecks; and

19 WHEREAS, The volunteer nature of the Texas State Guard makes

20 it a highly cost-effective and efficient force; members serve in an

21 unpaid capacity, unless called to active duty, and because they are

22 locally based throughout the state they can respond to emergencies

23 within two hours of notification; the valiant men and women who

24 belong to the state guard together provide an estimated 40,000 days

- 1 per year of uncompensated community service and disaster training;
- 2 and
- 3 WHEREAS, For seven decades, the Texas State Guard has helped
- 4 ensure the safety and well-being of the residents of the Lone Star
- 5 State, and its long history of service, often rendered in demanding
- 6 and dangerous conditions, is indeed deserving of recognition; now,
- 7 therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby commemorate the 70th anniversary of the Texas
- 10 State Guard and extend sincere gratitude to its members; and, be it
- 11 further
- 12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 13 prepared for the Texas State Guard as an expression of high regard
- 14 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Flynn

| Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza | Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos | Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley |
|---|---|---|
| Garza Geren | | |
| Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo | Miller of Comal Miller of Erath | Zedler Zerwas |
| | | |

....

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 570 was adopted by the House on March 17, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House