RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Mount Vernon Rotary Club has designated John
- 2 Jennings, Dr. Billy Joe Parnell, Gary Strange, David Solomon, Bob
- 3 McFarland, and Eduardo Luz as Paul Harris Fellows in honor of their
- 4 philanthropic contributions; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Named for the founder of Rotary International, the
- 6 title of Paul Harris Fellow is one of the most prestigious tributes
- 7 that Rotary can bestow; the accolade is awarded to individuals who
- 8 either have made a charitable donation of \$1,000 to the Rotary
- 9 Foundation or have had that amount contributed in their name; all
- 10 donations are used to advance the organization's goal of
- 11 eradicating polio and to fund programs that improve health, support
- 12 education, and alleviate poverty; and
- WHEREAS, Exemplifying the Rotary International motto of
- 14 "Service Above Self," these Mount Vernon civic leaders have devoted
- 15 themselves to helping others and improving their community; through
- 16 their work with the Mount Vernon Rotary Club, they have helped make
- 17 possible a number of worthwhile initiatives, including the
- 18 scholarships that the club awards to high school seniors and the
- 19 Tour de Cypress, the annual bike race organized by the club to
- 20 benefit a variety of local projects; and
- 21 WHEREAS, These caring Texans have helped to make Mount Vernon
- 22 a better place in which to live, work, and raise a family, and they
- 23 have exhibited a level of civic involvement and generosity to which
- 24 others may aspire; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 572

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate John Jennings, Dr. Billy Joe
- 3 Parnell, Gary Strange, David Solomon, Bob McFarland, and Eduardo
- 4 Luz on being named Paul Harris Fellows and extend to them sincere
- 5 best wishes for continued success in all of their endeavors; and, be
- 6 it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for these Rotarians as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Cain

T T	_		
н	-	$N \cap$	5/

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 572 was adopted by the House on March 10, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House