RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud members of Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority are
gathering in Austin on February 28, 2011, to celebrate Alpha Kappa
Alpha Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, The nation's first Greek sorority for African American women, Alpha Kappa Alpha was founded as a social and service organization on January 15, 1908, by Howard University undergraduate Ethel Hedgeman Lyle and 19 other students; together, these courageous women are today known as "the Twenty Pearls"; and

9 WHEREAS, The sorority seeks to cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical standards, to promote unity and friendship 10 11 among college women, and to improve the social stature of women of 12 all ages; a member of the National Pan-Hellenic Council, Alpha Kappa Alpha serves people around the world through the efforts of 13 14 more than 260,000 members in over 950 chapters located in the United States, the Caribbean, Canada, Germany, Korea, Japan, and Africa; 15 16 for 103 years, the group has made a positive difference with its important work on civil rights, education, economic empowerment, 17 18 and improved health care; and

WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha partnered with the U.S. Census Bureau in 2009 to help support the accuracy of the 2010 census; the sorority's Texas chapters received a Census Partnership Support Grant, and they organized into 33 Complete Count Committees across the Lone Star State to help reach communities deemed "hard to count"; and

1

1 WHEREAS, In addition, the sorority implemented a nonpartisan 2 National Voter Registration Blitz and "Take Five" Program in 2008, 3 resulting in the registration of 120,000 voters nationwide; in 4 Texas, 1,350 members distributed 11,250 registration cards, 5 registered more than 6,000 voters, and transported approximately 6 5,000 people to polling places on election day; and

7 WHEREAS, Many members of Alpha Kappa Alpha have gone on to 8 careers in public service, including Texas State Representatives 9 Dawnna Dukes, Dr. Alma Allen, and Senfronia Thompson and retired 10 state representative Wilhelmina Delco, as well as Denise Davis, 11 chief of staff for Speaker Joe Straus, and U.S. Congresswomen 12 Sheila Jackson Lee and Eddie Bernice Johnson; and

WHEREAS, Under the leadership of the sorority's 13 28th 14 international president, Carolyn House Stewart, Alpha Kappa Alpha 15 continues to address the issues of social justice, human rights, poverty, economic security, 16 health, and environmental 17 sustainability; the sorority's South Central Region is ably led by its 23rd regional director, Gwendolyn J. Brinkley of Houston; and 18

WHEREAS, Wearing their official colors of salmon pink and apple green, the members of Alpha Kappa Alpha are widely recognized for their elegance, charm, intelligence, and quiet strength, and the sorority continues to win renown for its service to Texas and the nation; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 28, 2011, as Alpha Kappa Alpha Day at the State Capitol and extend to the sorority's visiting delegation sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and meaningful

2

1 event; and, be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for the sorority as an expression of high regard by the 4 Texas House of Representatives.

Dukes

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 576 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House