H.R. No. 585

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize the students of DeVry University for their dedication to 3 acquiring the knowledge needed to solve the problems and address 4 the issues that affect their fellow Texans; and

5 WHEREAS, A leader in the field of career-oriented education 6 for 80 years, DeVry University has helped students succeed in the 7 classroom and in the workplace by offering focused, hands-on 8 education in the emerging vocational areas of business, technology, 9 and management; and

10 WHEREAS, With a presence in the Lone Star State since 1969, 11 the university offers curriculum and degree programs tailored to 12 match industry demand and to give students the skills required to 13 embark on successful careers and to enhance their opportunities; 14 and

WHEREAS, Students of DeVry University often undertake 15 16 projects that exemplify the school's commitment to the practical application of knowledge; one such example is the senior project of 17 Jimmy Espinosa, Luis Soriano, and William Campoverde, who have 18 worked with rangers of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department to 19 develop an emergency survival backpack that allows users to 20 21 recharge vital portable equipment through environmentally sound renewable energy technologies; and 22

23 WHEREAS, DeVry University has had a profound impact on the 24 lives of many Texans, and it is truly deserving of recognition as it

1

H.R. No. 585

1 celebrates 80 years of service; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby commend the students, faculty, and staff of DeVry University for their commitment to excellence in education and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the university as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Bohac

H.R. No. 585

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 585 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House