H.R. No. 587

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Tammie Lang Campbell of Houston has been nurturing
- 2 hope in young people for two decades through her writing,
- 3 leadership, and civic and community activism; and
- WHEREAS, The executive director of the Honey Brown Hope
- 5 Foundation, Tammie Campbell established that nonprofit
- 6 organization in 1991 in an effort to convey a message of healthy
- 7 self-worth and affirmation to girls and boys; she is the author of
- 8 the Honey Brown series of books, which focus on career development,
- 9 social responsibility, and positive self-image; and
- 10 WHEREAS, A force for change in her community, Ms. Campbell
- 11 wrote, produced, and directed an educational teleplay about the
- 12 importance of voting, which was aired in the Houston Independent
- 13 School District, and created two annual calendar series to promote
- 14 environmental stewardship; she is also responsible for an
- 15 after-school writing initiative that publishes and distributes
- 16 student work to YMCA program participants, and she contributed to
- 17 the production of murals celebrating the rich history and diversity
- 18 of Harris and Fort Bend Counties; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Ms. Campbell added her voice to the Harvard
- 20 University Civil Rights Project: School to Prison Pipeline
- 21 roundtable discussion in 2005 and helped to bring a traveling
- 22 exhibit on African American sacred music to Texas; moreover, she
- 23 hosted and sponsored the Houston PBS documentary premiere of Prince
- 24 Among Slaves during Black History Month 2008; she has been

H.R. No. 587

- 1 recognized for her work by former Houston mayor Bill White, and she
- 2 is the recipient of numerous honors, including the Aetna Medicare
- 3 Magic Touch and Kraft Foods/NAACP National Community Service
- 4 awards; and
- 5 WHEREAS, This industrious woman holds a degree in business
- 6 administration from Alcorn State University; she shares her
- 7 expertise as a motivational speaker and consultant, and she was the
- 8 first woman to be elected president of the Missouri City and
- 9 Vicinity Branch of the NAACP; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In all of her endeavors, Ms. Campbell enjoys the
- 11 love and support of her husband, Dennis Campbell, Sr., and the
- 12 couple are the proud parents of a daughter and a son, Shar-day and
- 13 Dennis; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Tammie Campbell has distinguished herself through
- 15 her longstanding commitment to ensuring a bright future for the
- 16 next generation of Texans, and her efforts have had a positive
- 17 influence on many throughout the Houston area; now, therefore, be
- 18 it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby honor Tammie Lang Campbell for her many
- 21 contributions and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued
- 22 success; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for Ms. Campbell as an expression of high regard by the
- 25 Texas House of Representatives.

Allen

H.R. No. 587

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 587
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 587 was 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House