By: Guillen H.R. No. 590

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Cultural Trust is recognizing the 2011
- 2 Texas Medal of Arts Award winners on March 1, 2011; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The Texas Medal of Arts Awards pay tribute to
- 4 residents of the Lone Star State who have made important
- 5 contributions to a variety of artistic disciplines in the state,
- 6 either through personal achievement or through generous support;
- 7 and
- 8 WHEREAS, Those selected for the 2011 biennial awards are:
- 9 Barbara Smith Conrad, Lifetime Achievement; Robert M. Edsel,
- 10 Literary Arts; Tom Staley, Art Education; James Drake, Visual Arts;
- 11 Alley Theatre, Theatre; H-E-B, Corporate Patron; Bob Schieffer,
- 12 Television; Ray Benson, Multi-Media; Ernest and Sarah Butler,
- 13 Individual Patrons; Marcia Gay Harden, Film Actress; Bill Paxton,
- 14 Film Actor; and ZZ Top, Music; and
- 15 WHEREAS, The arts greatly enhance the quality of life in
- 16 Texas, and the creative individuals and committed patrons being
- 17 honored by the Texas Cultural Trust have contributed immeasurably
- 18 to the rich cultural tapestry of the Lone Star State; now,
- 19 therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby congratulate the recipients of the 2011 Texas
- 22 Medal of Arts Awards and express deep appreciation for their
- 23 dedication to the advancement of the arts in Texas; and, be it
- 24 further

H.R. No. 590

- 1 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared for each
- 2 award winner as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of
- 3 Representatives.