RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The football team from Lake Travis High School in 2 Austin claimed the 2010 University Interscholastic League 4A 3 Division 1 state championship with a commanding 27-7 victory in the 4 title game on December 18, and this triumph earned the Cavaliers the 5 rare distinction of having won four consecutive state crowns; and

6 WHEREAS, Playing before 20,487 fans at Cowboys Stadium in 7 Arlington, Lake Travis dominated the highly respected team from Ryan High School in Denton, who entered the game with a perfect 15-0 8 record; the Lake Travis defense was key to the win, denying Ryan a 9 first down until the third quarter and holding the Raiders to a 10 11 single touchdown overall; leading the charge was linebacker Austin 12 Williams, who tallied nine tackles and was named the game's defensive most valuable player; other key figures in the effort 13 14 were safety Zach Streuling, cornerback Omar Duke-Tinson, defensive end Shaquille Marable, and defensive tackle Jonathan Roberts, who 15 combined for 19 tackles; and 16

WHEREAS, The offensive MVP award went to Cavalier quarterback Michael Brewer, who passed for 211 yards and scored two touchdowns; adding to the point total were fullback Colin Lagasse, who scored a touchdown, and all-state kicker Stephen Pyle, who contributed field goals of 44 and 30 yards; and

22 WHEREAS, First-year head coach Hank Carter continued the 23 winning tradition that has been established at Lake Travis, which 24 is the only 4A school in Texas to win four straight titles; the

1

Cavaliers have now triumphed in 24 playoff games in a row, one short
of the state record, and over the past four years they have amassed
a 61-3 record; and

WHEREAS, All members of the Lake Travis roster contributed to 4 5 the title-winning effort in 2010, and special recognition is due the team's senior players: Cody Alexander, Justin Alexander, Jeremy 6 Amberger, Dylan Bittles, Michael Brewer, Johnathan Briones, 7 8 Anthony Carchi, Alex Chapman, Kyle Connell, Sean Craig, Taylor Doyle, Omar Duke-Tinson, Garrett Faber, Evan Faust, Clay Flinn, 9 10 Conner Floyd, Tanner Gillette, Luis Godinez, Axel Gomez, Adam Jemmott, Will Jones, Jake Kotalik, Bryan Kribbs, Casey Laney, Nick 11 12 Magnella, Shaquille Marable, Alex Matthews, Turney Maurer, Connor Nelson, Michael Pojman, Stephen Pyle, Cullen Richardson, Jonathan 13 Roberts, Sam Schlanger, Alex Smelcer, Andreas Soto, Gokmen Tireng, 14 15 Alex Walsh, Austin Williams, and Reagan Womack; and

16 WHEREAS, Winning four consecutive state championships is a 17 rare feat that is the culmination of countless hours of hard work 18 and an unwavering commitment to excellence, and the Cavaliers may 19 take justifiable pride in their outstanding accomplishment; now, 20 therefore, be it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 22 Legislature hereby congratulate the Lake Travis High School 23 football team on winning the UIL 4A Division 1 state championship 24 for 2010 and extend to the players, coaches, and staff sincere best 25 wishes for continued success; and, be it further

26 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 27 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas

2

1 House of Representatives.

Workman

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 593 was adopted by the House on March 10, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House