H.R. No. 596

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Alda T. Benavides was named the Distinguished
- 2 Bilingual Educator of the Year by the Rio Grande Valley-Texas
- 3 Association for Bilingual Education on January 18, 2011; and
- WHEREAS, A graduate of La Joya High School, Ms. Benavides
- 5 earned her bachelor's degree from The University of Texas--Pan
- 6 American and went on to complete training in mid-management
- 7 administration, counseling, supervision, and English as a second
- 8 language, and to receive superintendent certification; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Ms. Benavides served the La Joya Independent School
- 10 District as principal of Kika De La Garza and E. B. Reyna Elementary
- 11 Schools, and her exceptional efforts were recognized with the
- 12 National Distinguished Principal Award in 1997; in 2006, she was
- 13 named superintendent, and during her tenure she has helped promote
- 14 dual language instruction to better serve a population in which
- 15 nearly half of the students are bilingual; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Recognizing that bilingual graduates are more
- 17 marketable to employers and possessing a steadfast commitment to
- 18 excellence, Alda Benavides has made a positive difference in the
- 19 lives of many young Texans, and she is contributing greatly to
- 20 quality of education and economic prosperity in the Lone Star
- 21 State; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby congratulate Alda T. Benavides on being named
- 24 the Distinguished Bilingual Educator of the Year by the Rio Grande

H.R. No. 596

- 1 Valley-Texas Association for Bilingual Education and extend to her
- 2 sincere best wishes for continued success with her important work;
- 3 and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Ms. Benavides as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Munoz, Jr.

TT	ח	TAT C	596
Н	ĸ	$N \cap$	コツロ

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 596 was adopted by the House on March 10, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House