## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Residents of the city of West are coming to Austin on
March 2, 2011, to celebrate West Day at the State Capitol; and

3 WHEREAS, Established at its present site in 1881 and 4 officially becoming West nine years later, this small but vibrant 5 community, which was named after farmer, postmaster, and 6 businessman Thomas West, retains many of the same charms that drew 7 people to the area more than 100 years ago; and

8 WHEREAS, Among those attracted to this rich farmland were 9 Czech immigrants who farmed the land, opened businesses, shared 10 their European culture, and planted roots that are now indelibly 11 woven into the identity of West; and

12 WHEREAS, The people of West embrace this heritage, making it known and officially designated as the Czech Heritage Capital of 13 14 the State of Texas and informally calling it the "Czech Point of Central Texas"; West is the place to be on Labor Day weekend for the 15 16 annual tradition of Westfest, a celebration of Old World foods, music, arts and crafts, and many other activities; the city is also 17 renowned for its tasty kolaches, the absence of which was mightily 18 felt when the previously scheduled West Day at the State Capitol 19 20 this session was canceled due to bad weather; and

21 WHEREAS, Home to nearly 3,000 people, West is a small town 22 with a big can-do attitude; whether it's for the food, a trip to the 23 Katy Depot Museum, or specialty shopping, the residents of West 24 have much to make them proud; now, therefore, be it

1

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 2 Legislature hereby recognize March 2, 2011, as West Day at the State 3 Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere best wishes 4 for an enjoyable and memorable visit to Austin.

Anderson of McLennan

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 622 was adopted by the House on March 2, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House