RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Debra Lee is the keynote speaker at the Scholarship
Banquet at the African American Leadership Summit, which is being
held in Austin on February 28 and March 1, 2011; and

WHEREAS, As the chief executive officer and chair of the board of directors of Black Entertainment Television, Inc., Ms. Lee is among an elite group of American business leaders who head multibillion-dollar organizations; and

8 WHEREAS, After earning her bachelor's degree from Brown 9 University, Ms. Lee went on to earn a master's degree in public 10 policy from the John F. Kennedy School of Government and her law 11 degree from Harvard University; she was a law clerk in the U.S. 12 District Court for the District of Columbia and spent five years as 13 an attorney in Washington, D.C., before joining BET Holdings in 14 1986 as vice president and general counsel; and

WHEREAS, She has been BET's executive vice president of legal affairs, magazine division publisher, and head of strategic business development, and has held a number of other key positions in the company; in addition, she serves on the board of directors of the Eastman Kodak Company, Marriott International, Inc., Revlon, Inc., and Washington Gas Light Company; and

21 WHEREAS, An active participant in many civic and professional 22 organizations, Ms. Lee is a member of the boards of the Kennedy 23 Center Corporate Fund, the National Symphony Orchestra, the 24 National Women's Law Center, the Alvin Ailey American Dance

1

1 Theater, and Girls, Inc.; she is a past recipient of the Vanguard Award from the National Cable & Telecommunications Association, the 2 3 Positively Visionary Award from Cable Positive, the Quasar Award from the National Association of Minorities in Communications, the 4 5 Tower of Power Trumpet Award from Turner Broadcasting System, and the Woman of the Year Award from Women in Cable Telecommunications; 6 she was named one of the 100 Most Powerful Women in Washington, 7 8 D.C., by Washingtonian magazine and one of the top 50 Most Powerful Women in Cable by CableFAX magazine; and 9

10 WHEREAS, Over the course of her accomplished career, Ms. Lee 11 has distinguished herself through hard work, perseverance, and 12 outstanding achievements, and she sets an example of leadership to 13 which all may aspire; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby honor Debra Lee on the occasion of her keynote address at the Scholarship Banquet at the 2011 African American Leadership Summit and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further

19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for Ms. Lee as an expression of high regard by the Texas 21 House of Representatives.

Turner

2

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 626 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House