H.R. No. 630

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Mary Etta Berry Delaney of Houston is receiving a
- 2 2011 Outstanding Community Leader Award from the Texas Legislative
- 3 Black Caucus; and
- WHEREAS, Born in Onalaska, Mrs. Delaney has made Houston her
- 5 home since 1948; an active member of the Miles Chapel Christian
- 6 Methodist Episcopal Church for more than six decades, she currently
- 7 serves on the stewardess and Christian education boards,
- 8 participates in the prayer band and missionary society, and
- 9 contributes to the church's Sunday school programs; in addition,
- 10 she organized and became a leader for church-affiliated Boy Scout
- 11 and Girl Scout troops; and
- WHEREAS, An employee of the Houston Independent School
- 13 District for 34 years, Mrs. Delaney is now a permanent volunteer
- 14 with the district; she shares her time and talents with a number of
- 15 civic associations, including the S.H.A.P.E. Community Center and
- 16 its Elders Institute of Wisdom, Finnigan Park Seniors in Action,
- 17 Church Women United, Harris County Council of Organizations, and
- 18 Black Heritage Society; in addition, she is a life member of the
- 19 National Council of Negro Women and the NAACP; and
- WHEREAS, Mrs. Delaney began Delaney for Christ Ministries
- 21 with her children and siblings in 1998, and the group now operates
- 22 in Houston, Lubbock, and Garland; exemplifying the motto "meet
- 23 people where they are," the ministry organizes activities such as
- 24 church and youth revivals, outreach programs, choir workshops,

H.R. No. 630

- 1 prison ministries, church reunions, and entertainment for senior
- 2 citizens' homes; moreover, Mrs. Delaney is the cofounder of
- 3 Africans United for Sanity Now, a mental health initiative that
- 4 holds yearly workshops in Houston and New York City; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Affectionately known as "Mother Delaney," this
- 6 respected community leader has mentored countless young people from
- 7 all walks of life, and she is well-loved for her storytelling
- 8 abilities, lively personality, wit, and sage advice; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Through her tireless efforts in behalf of her fellow
- 10 citizens, Mary Etta Delaney has set an inspiring example of civic
- 11 engagement, and in so doing, she has earned the deep respect and
- 12 admiration of all who know her; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby congratulate Mary Etta Berry Delaney on her
- 15 receipt of a 2011 Outstanding Community Leader Award from the Texas
- 16 Legislative Black Caucus and extend to her sincere best wishes for
- 17 continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 19 prepared for Mrs. Delaney as an expression of high regard by the
- 20 Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 630

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 630
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 630 was 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House