RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Multiple sclerosis (MS) is an unpredictable, 2 debilitating disease of the central nervous system in which the 3 flow of information between the brain and body is interrupted; and

WHEREAS, Every hour of every day, someone in the United States is diagnosed with MS; often first detected in individuals ages 20 through 50, it is the most common neurological disease leading to disability in young adults; MS affects an estimated 2.5 million people worldwide, including 400,000 in the United States and more than 20,000 in Texas; and

10 WHEREAS, The National Multiple Sclerosis Society: Lone Star 11 is a community of Texans who are committed to doing something about 12 MS now; they support programs and services to enhance the lives of 13 people with MS, raise funds and awareness through Bike MS and Walk 14 MS events, and invest in research toward a cure for the disease; and

15 WHEREAS, In partnership with the Office of Public Insurance 16 Counsel and the Texas Department of Insurance, the Lone Star group 17 was instrumental in the recent adoption of a statewide ban on 18 discretionary clauses in life, health, and disability insurance 19 policies, and this action will help protect Texans living with MS as 20 well as all Texas consumers; and

21 WHEREAS, Though much still remains to be done, the work of the 22 National Multiple Sclerosis Society and the other organizations and 23 institutions working in behalf of those with MS are helping to 24 create a dynamic movement with the ultimate goal of achieving a

1

1 world free of MS; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 3 Legislature hereby recognize March 14 through 20, 2011, as Multiple 4 Sclerosis Awareness Week in Texas and encourage efforts to inform 5 Texans about MS and MS services.

Shelton

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 641 was adopted by the House on March 14, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House