RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Eli Davis of Dallas has been named an Outstanding

2 Community Leader of House District 111 by the Texas Legislative

3 Black Caucus; and

WHEREAS, A retired educator, Mr. Davis has volunteered his

time in service to the greater good over the course of several

6 decades; born in Terrell, he grew up in Dallas and Fort Worth and

7 earned his bachelor's degree at Mary Allen College in Crockett; he

8 went on to receive a master's degree in education with an emphasis

9 on administration and supervision from Prairie View A&M University;

10 he was a member of the United States Army as well as the reserves,

11 retiring as a master sergeant after 27 years of exemplary service;

12 and

5

WHEREAS, Mr. Davis worked for the Dallas Independent School

14 District for more than three decades; over the course of his career,

15 he served as a high school mathematics and science teacher, as an

16 assistant principal at several campuses, and as the principal of

17 the B. F. Darrell Elementary School, his alma mater; he has been a

18 member of a long list of professional educational organizations

19 that includes the Classroom Teachers of Dallas, the Texas State

20 Teachers Association, the National Education Association, the

21 National Association of Secondary School Principals, and the Texas

22 Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association; retiring in

23 1990, he went on to work as an assistant to Texas State

24 Representative Jesse W. Jones for 14 years; and

- WHEREAS, In his volunteer work, Mr. Davis has lent his 1 leadership skills to numerous organizations, including the Boy 2 3 Scouts, which he served as a scoutmaster, and the PTA, the Dunbar Social and Charity Club, and the Omicron Chapter of Phi Beta Sigma, 4 5 all of which he served as president; in addition, he has been a delegate to four Democratic National Conventions and was a member 6 7 of the National Democratic Platform Committee in 2000; other 8 organizations to benefit from his membership include the NAACP, the Dallas Area Agency on Aging, the Oak Cliff Chamber of Commerce, and 9 10 the Greater New Zion Baptist Church Sanctuary Choir and Male
- WHEREAS, In addition to the many awards he has received from his church, employer, and political party, Mr. Davis was commissioned by the governor of the State of Texas as an Honorary Texas Ranger and as a special assistant to the governor; and

Chorus; and

11

- WHEREAS, Eli Davis has demonstrated a lasting commitment to his fellow citizens, and his contributions have improved the quality of life in his community in countless ways; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
 Legislature hereby congratulate Eli Davis on his selection as an
 Outstanding Community Leader of House District 111 by the Texas
 Legislative Black Caucus and extend to him sincere best wishes for
 continued happiness; and, be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Mr. Davis as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 3 House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 651
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 651 was 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House