H.R. No. 663

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Greater Houston Women's Chamber of
- 2 Commerce are visiting the State Capitol on March 1, 2011, and their
- 3 attendance provides a fitting opportunity to recognize the
- 4 achievements of this vital civic organization; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Founded in December 2007 by Suzan Deison, the
- 6 Greater Houston Women's Chamber of Commerce is a nonprofit business
- 7 association made up of influential and diverse individuals
- 8 dedicated to the advancement and empowerment of women; the group
- 9 makes training and microloans available to women entrepreneurs,
- 10 offers education on leadership skills for executives, and presents
- 11 scholarships to promising students; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The chamber now has 525 member businesses ranging
- 13 from Fortune 500 companies to small ventures; committed to meeting
- 14 area businesswomen's needs for advocacy and mentoring, the chamber
- 15 also sponsors other civic projects, including a science,
- 16 technology, engineering, and math initiative that works to increase
- 17 interest in those subjects among girls at the elementary-school
- 18 level; and
- 19 WHEREAS, By becoming a united force for the advancement of
- 20 women in a range of endeavors, the Greater Houston Women's Chamber
- 21 of Commerce is assisting the development of business, professional,
- 22 and civic leaders that will benefit the city for many years to come;
- 23 now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

H.R. No. 663

- 1 Legislature hereby welcome members of the Greater Houston Women's
- 2 Chamber of Commerce to the State Capitol and extend to them sincere
- 3 best wishes for a meaningful and memorable visit to Austin; and, be
- 4 it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the chamber as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Harless S. Davis of Harris

TT	_	7. T	\sim
Н	-	NΩ	りんく

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 663 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House