H.R. No. 670

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, During 2010, the Texas Christian University
- 2 baseball team earned national recognition and had the most
- 3 successful season in the program's history; and
- WHEREAS, The Horned Frogs finished the year as the No.
- 5 3-ranked team in the nation in all four major polls, and the
- 6 athletes attained a number of other notable milestones; they became
- 7 the first TCU team to qualify for the College World Series and the
- 8 first to win 50 games, and the squad's impressive total of 54
- 9 victories was the second-highest ever compiled by a National
- 10 Collegiate Athletic Association Division I school; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Head coach Jim Schlossnagle was named Coach of the
- 12 Year by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, while
- 13 Bryan Holaday was named an all-American and also received the
- 14 prestigious Johnny Bench Award, given to college baseball's top
- 15 catcher; the Horned Frogs hit .334 as a team and belted 101 home
- 16 runs, and they set 16 team and 8 individual records; and
- 17 WHEREAS, For the second year in a row, TCU's excellent
- 18 regular season record earned the team the right to host the regional
- 19 playoffs; they beat Lamar University 16-3 and then bested the
- 20 University of Arizona by a score of 11-5; in the final game, Steven
- 21 Maxwell pitched a 9-0 shutout against Baylor University, putting
- 22 the Horned Frogs into the super regional; and
- 23 WHEREAS, For that round of the playoffs, the Frogs traveled
- 24 to Austin to play The University of Texas Longhorns; TCU won the

H.R. No. 670

- 1 first game 3-1 behind the pitching of Matt Purke but lost the second
- 2 to set up a dramatic tiebreaker showdown; Kyle Winkler got the
- 3 starting assignment and did not allow a run for over 7 innings,
- 4 while Aaron Schultz and Mr. Holaday hit home runs to key the 4-1
- 5 victory that earned the team a trip to Omaha, Nebraska, to play in
- 6 the College World Series; and
- WHEREAS, In Omaha, TCU became the first school since 1994 to
- 8 win its CWS debut, when it beat Florida State, 8-1; the Horned Frogs
- 9 went all the way to the semifinals, making their inaugural series a
- 10 memorable one; and
- 11 WHEREAS, A total of 300 colleges begin every baseball season
- 12 with a chance to get to the College World Series, but in the end only
- 13 eight of them qualify; hard work and an enduring commitment to
- 14 excellence earned the TCU baseball team one of those eight berths in
- 15 2010, and these skilled athletes may take justifiable pride in this
- 16 accomplishment; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas Christian University
- 19 baseball team on its outstanding 2010 season and extend to the
- 20 players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued
- 21 success; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 24 House of Representatives.

Geren

## H.R. No. 670

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 6/0	
	Speaker of the House	
I certify that H.R. No. 670 was	adopted by the House on March 2,	
2011, by a non-record vote.		
	Chief Clerk of the House	