H.R. No. 671

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Christian University rifle team won the
- 2 2010 National Collegiate Athletic Association national title with a
- 3 victory in the championship competition held March 12 and 13 in Fort
- 4 Worth; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Competing against the best schools in the country,
- 6 including perennial favorites West Virginia University and the
- 7 University of Alaska Fairbanks, the Horned Frogs emerged triumphant
- 8 after a particularly impressive showing on the second day of the
- 9 event; furthermore, TCU became the first-ever all-female squad to
- 10 take the national title in the coed sport of shooting; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Sarah Scherer won the individual smallbore title
- 12 while Erin Lorenzen finished third in the individual air rifle
- 13 competition and was named Most Outstanding Athlete in the
- 14 championships by the Collegiate Rifle Coaches Association; all five
- 15 TCU shooters, including Simone Riford, Sarah Beard, and Caitlin
- 16 Morrissey, earned all-American honors in 2010, and Ms. Lorenzen and
- 17 Ms. Riford were so named in all four of their collegiate seasons;
- 18 and
- 19 WHEREAS, The Horned Frog competitors received an additional
- 20 honor in September 2010 when the team members and head coach Karen
- 21 Monez were invited to the White House for a gathering of NCAA
- 22 champions, where President Barack Obama singled them out for their
- 23 shooting skill; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Through hard work and an enduring commitment to

H.R. No. 671

- 1 excellence, the Texas Christian University rifle team has finished
- 2 in the top five in the national tournament in each of the past four
- 3 seasons, attaining the pinnacle of success with the 2010 NCAA
- 4 title, and these exceptional athletes and their coach may take
- 5 justifiable pride in their achievements; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas Christian University
- 8 rifle team on winning the 2010 NCAA national championship and
- 9 commend its members for their fine work during a superlative
- 10 season; and, be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 12 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 13 House of Representatives.

Geren

## H.R. No. 671

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 6/1		
	Speaker of the House		
I certify that H.R. No. 671 was	adopted by the House on March 2,		
2011, by a non-record vote.			
	Chief Clerk of the House		