RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Honoring the memory of a young Texan who lost her 2 life in a senseless tragedy, the Remember Alex Brown Foundation 3 works to raise awareness about the dangers of texting while 4 driving; and

5 WHEREAS, In November 2009, Alex Brown, a senior at Seagraves 6 High School, lost control of her pickup truck when she was texting 7 and died as a result of the injuries she sustained in the accident; 8 and

9 WHEREAS, This vivacious 17-year-old was a straight-A student 10 and a member of FFA and the basketball team; she also sang soprano 11 and served as the Seagraves Eagles student mascot; and

12 WHEREAS, In memory of their daughter, Johnny Mac and Jeanne 13 Brown of Wellman created the Remember Alex Brown Foundation, and 14 they travel to high schools across the Lone Star State with the 15 wreckage of their daughter's truck, urging young people to pledge 16 not to text while driving; and

17 WHEREAS, Mr. and Mrs. Brown and their youngest daughter, 18 Katrina, have also been featured on the ABC television program 19 Extreme Makeover: Home Edition; this national exposure has helped 20 to take their anti-texting campaign to countless individuals across 21 the country; and

22 WHEREAS, Through their vital work with the Remember Alex 23 Brown Foundation, the Browns are selflessly sharing the story of 24 their heartbreaking loss to help save the lives of other young

1

1 people; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 3 Legislature hereby honor Johnny Mac and Jeanne Brown for their 4 establishment of the Remember Alex Brown Foundation in memory of 5 their beloved daughter and extend to them sincere best wishes for 6 continued success with spreading their important message; and, be 7 it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Brown as an expression of high regard by 10 the Texas House of Representatives.

> Landtroop Perry

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 681 was adopted by the House on March 9, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House