H.R. No. 682

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, March 25, 2011, marks the 100th birthday of a noted 2 religious leader, His Holiness Dr. Syedna Mohammed Burhanuddin; and 3 WHEREAS, Dr. Syedna Mohammed Burhanuddin is the 52nd in a succession of leaders carrying out the Fatemid Islamic tradition, 4 5 and he heads a community of more than two million Shia Muslims known as the Dawoodi Bohras; based in Mumbai, India, he travels the globe 6 7 as an "Ambassador of Peace," promoting harmony and diversity and encouraging his followers to forge links that transcend barriers of 8 9 race and religion while remaining loyal to the land of their abode as an article of their faith; and 10 WHEREAS, Guided by Dr. Burhanuddin, Dawoodi Bohras have

11 12 maintained and reaffirmed their Islamic values while embracing technology and modernity as ways to prosper and to cultivate 13 positive relations among different peoples of the world; his 14 efforts have also helped to earn the Dawoodi Bohras 15 an 16 international reputation for peace, productivity, and humanitarianism; and 17

WHEREAS, Texas' two Dawoodi Bohra Masjids in the cities of
Irving and Katy are symbols of the Dawoodi Bohras' success in and
commitment to Texas, and they serve as significant cultural
additions to the state; moreover, Dr. Burhanuddin has recognized
the city of Houston as a home for himself, his children, his
grandchildren, and over 3,000 followers; and

24 WHEREAS, The Dawoodi Bohra community is contributing to the

H.R. No. 682

- 1 cultural diversity and economic vitality of the Lone Star State,
- 2 and this occasion provides a fitting opportunity to recognize its
- 3 respected leader; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby congratulate His Holiness Dr. Syedna Mohammed
- 6 Burhanuddin on the occasion of his 100th birthday and extend to him
- 7 sincere best wishes for the future.

Shelton

 _	3.7	682
	NΩ	ムとノ
		$ \sim$ \sim

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 682 was adopted by the House on March 7, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House