H.R. No. 694

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Garland City Council are visiting the 2 State Capitol on March 3, 2011, and this occasion provides a welcome opportunity to celebrate the city's history and achievements; and 3 WHEREAS, This thriving North Texas community was established 4 5 along the junction of several major railroads in the late 1800s; originally known as Duck Creek and Embry, it was renamed in honor of 6 7 H. A. Garland, who served as United States attorney general under President Grover Cleveland; and 8 WHEREAS, Incorporated in 1891, Garland began as a rural 9 farming town and grew slowly but steadily during its first 50 years; 10 11 just over 2,000 people lived there in 1940, but the nation's growing 12 industrial needs during World War II brought several

15 Texas, with more than 226,000 people; and

13

14

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

WHEREAS, Garland's progress is now being fostered by the visionary leadership of the members of the Garland City Council and the Garland Chamber of Commerce; through mutual efforts, they are working to enhance the city's economy and to ensure that Garland will continue to offer the economic diversity, job growth, and favorable business climate that has characterized its expansion and made it an ideal place to live and work through the years; and

businesses, and by the end of the decade, the population had

increased to around 10,000; today, it is the 12th largest city in

WHEREAS, Garland has its own unique history and identity as well as numerous performing arts centers, museums, and theaters of

H.R. No. 694

- 1 which its residents can be proud, while its location near Dallas
- 2 allows them also to take advantage of the myriad cultural
- 3 opportunities that the Metroplex has to offer; it is further
- 4 blessed with abundant commercial and natural resources, an
- 5 energetic and forward-looking citizenry, and outstanding leaders
- 6 that are allowing it to continue to play a significant role in the
- 7 prosperity and ongoing development of the Lone Star State; now,
- 8 therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby recognize the members of the Garland City
- 11 Council on the occasion of their visit to the State Capitol and
- 12 extend to them best wishes for a memorable and enjoyable stay in
- 13 Austin; and, be it further
- 14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 15 prepared for the Garland City Council as an expression of high
- 16 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Carter Sheets Button

## H.R. No. 694

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 694
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 694	was adopted by the House on March 3,
2011, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House