RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Thomas Randall Snow of Terrell experienced a 2 life-changing accident while still a teen, yet he went on to become a world-renowned athlete who inspired countless admirers across the 3 Lone Star State and beyond; and 4 WHEREAS, Born on May 24, 1959, Randy Snow was a state-ranked 5 tennis player dreaming of a pro career when he was paralyzed at the 6 7 age of 16 in a farm accident; he graduated from Terrell High School and enrolled at The University of Texas at Austin, establishing a 8

11 wheelchair athletic program, ultimately earning a bachelor's

wheelchair basketball team there, and he later transferred to The

University of Texas at Arlington and participated in the school's

12 degree in 1986; he subsequently received a master's degree in

13 psychology from the University of Phoenix; and

9

10

14 WHEREAS, Mr. Snow competed in wheelchair tennis, track, and basketball, with an impressive record of success in all three 15 sports; after receiving a standing ovation and a silver medal for 16 his performance in the men's 1500-meter wheelchair exhibition race 17 at the 1984 Summer Olympics, he helped focus attention on disabled 18 athletes and assisted in the launch of the Paralympic Games; he was 19 20 a 16-time U.S. Open wheelchair champion between 1981 and 1993, won 21 gold medals in the 1992 Summer Paralympic Games in Barcelona for 22 singles and doubles tennis, and was a member of the bronze medal-winning wheelchair basketball team at the 1996 Atlanta Games; 23 24 moreover, he was named outstanding athlete at the National

- 1 Wheelchair Games and became the only participant to medal in three
- 2 different sports in the summer Paralympic Games; and
- 3 WHEREAS, This notable competitor was inducted into the Texas
- 4 Tennis Hall of Fame in 2001 and the National Spinal Cord Injury Hall
- 5 of Fame in 2005, and he was the first paralympian inducted into the
- 6 U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame in 2004; and
- WHEREAS, Also a leader in business and motivational speaking
- 8 and the author of three books, Mr. Snow conducted the Randy Snow
- 9 Wheelchair Tennis Camps and developed the United States
- 10 Professional Tennis Association wheelchair certification; he had a
- 11 20-year career with Sunrise Medical, a company that makes
- 12 wheelchairs and other devices, and he founded his own venture, NO
- 13 XQs, Inc., in 1999; in addition, he served on the board of the
- 14 Terrell Friends of the Library and was active in Wheels for
- 15 Humanity, Turning Point Nation, and other groups that encourage and
- 16 support individuals with disabilities; he was leading a wheelchair
- 17 tennis camp in El Salvador for the International Tennis Federation
- 18 at the time of his death on November 19, 2009, and he was
- 19 posthumously inducted into the U.S. Professional Tennis
- 20 Association Hall of Fame the following year; and
- 21 WHEREAS, In conjunction with the annual Kaufman County Day
- 22 festivities at the State Capitol, the date of March 7, 2011, is also
- 23 being recognized as Randy Snow Day in memory of this longtime county
- 24 resident and esteemed Texan; and
- WHEREAS, Refusing to let his disability define him, Randy
- 26 Snow brought to all of his endeavors great skill, optimism, and
- 27 determination, and his achievements have touched more lives than he

- 1 could ever know; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby recognize March 7, 2011, as Randy Snow Day and
- 4 pay tribute to the life and legacy of this remarkable Texan.

Gooden

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 737
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 737 was	unanimously adopted by a rising
vote of the House on March 7, 2011.	
	Chief Clerk of the House