## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dr. Thomas R. Norris of McGregor is retiring as
- 2 executive director of Education Service Center Region 12 in June
- 3 2011, concluding an outstanding tenure in education that has
- 4 spanned four decades; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A graduate of Columbia College, Dr. Norris earned
- 6 his master's and doctoral degrees in educational administration
- 7 from Baylor University; he worked as a teacher in Milford and Waco
- 8 before accepting further responsibility in such roles as assistant
- 9 principal at Travis Middle School in Temple and principal at La
- 10 Marque Junior High in La Marque; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Dr. Norris went on to serve as director of secondary
- 12 curriculum and instruction, assistant superintendent for secondary
- 13 operations, and interim superintendent of Round Rock ISD before
- 14 being named superintendent of the district in 1994; in that
- 15 position, he was responsible for 33 campuses, including 11 Texas
- 16 Blue Ribbon and 8 National Blue Ribbon Schools, and the district's
- 17 27,300 students; and
- WHEREAS, In 1998, Dr. Norris joined the Region 12 Education
- 19 Service Center, where he has overseen the development of a
- 20 continuous improvement/performance excellence model; Region 12
- 21 encompasses 12 counties and serves 77 school districts and 13
- 22 charter schools; under Dr. Norris's leadership, the center has
- 23 increased services to customers and trained more than 48,000
- 24 participants in 2009-2010 alone; and

- 1 WHEREAS, Dr. Norris has shared his expertise as chair and
- 2 legislative chair of the Commissioner's Cabinet for Regional
- 3 Services, as a board member of the Greater Waco Community Education
- 4 Alliance and Academic Decathlon, and as a member of the Texas and
- 5 American Associations of School Administrators, Association for
- 6 Supervision and Curriculum Development, and Phi Delta Kappa; his
- 7 efforts have earned him a number of honors through the years,
- 8 including the title of Administrator of the Year from the Texas
- 9 Association of Journalism Educators; and
- 10 WHEREAS, This esteemed Texan has demonstrated a commitment to
- 11 excellence in all of his professional endeavors, and his hard work
- 12 and dedication have significantly benefited many schoolchildren
- 13 across the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 15 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Thomas R. Norris on his
- 16 retirement as executive director of Education Service Center Region
- 17 12 and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued happiness;
- 18 and, be it further
- 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 20 prepared for Dr. Norris as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 21 House of Representatives.

Pitts

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas


Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 746 was adopted by the House on March 17, 2011, by a non-record vote.

\_\_\_\_\_

Chief Clerk of the House