H.R. No. 751

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Chemical Council and the Association of 2 Chemical Industry of Texas are sponsoring Texas Chemicals Day at 3 the State Capitol on March 9, 2011; and

WHEREAS, The chemical industry directly employs more than 70,000 people in Texas; it also employs indirectly some half a million Texans, including contractors, suppliers, distributors, and other support personnel; in addition, it contributes to the state's economy by paying over \$1 billion in state and local taxes and more than \$6 billion in salaries and benefits; and

10 WHEREAS, Texas is the nation's largest chemical producer, and 11 chemicals are the Lone Star State's second largest export; the 12 \$30.9 billion in chemicals exported from Texas each year represents 13 more than 20 percent of the state's total exports; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Chemical Council was organized in 1953 and holds the distinction of being the country's first trade association representing the common interests of industry members at the state level; ACIT includes manufacturers and suppliers working as a united industry; both TCC and ACIT address such issues as energy policy, environmental protection, taxes, and workforce; and

21 WHEREAS, A vital component in myriad consumer items, 22 chemicals are used in the manufacture of such diverse products as 23 airplanes, automobiles, pharmaceuticals, computers, electronics, 24 clothing fibers, solar panels, light bulbs, and high-performance

1

1 building materials, and Texas Chemicals Day promotes awareness 2 about the importance of chemistry and chemical products in our 3 everyday lives; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature hereby recognize March 9, 2011, as Texas Chemicals Day
at the State Capitol and extend best wishes to the Texas Chemical
Council and the Association of Chemical Industry of Texas for a
memorable and successful event.

Hancock

H.R. No. 751

H.R. No. 751

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 751 was adopted by the House on March 9, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House