RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Lieutenant Colonel Deborah L. Van Dormolen of Salado
 was named the 2010 Distinguished Military Retiree for Texas by the
 Fort Hood Retiree Council; and

WHEREAS, Recognized for her outstanding contributions to the 4 5 betterment of the community, military retirees, and the families of military personnel, "Borah" Van Dormolen has given generously of 6 7 her time and talents in numerous leadership roles since retiring from the United States Army in 1997; she is a member of the board of 8 governors for the Association of the United States Army, Fort Hood 9 Chapter, and she has served as state vice president for the Texas 10 11 Council of Chapters of the Military Officers Association of America 12 and as president and director of the Central Texas Chapter of the Military Officers Association; and 13

WHEREAS, Colonel Van Dormolen enlisted in the army in 1974, after graduating from West Chester State College in Pennsylvania; she later earned her master's degree in physical education from Indiana University and also completed the Signal Officer Basic and Advanced courses and graduated from the Command and General Staff College; and

20 WHEREAS, Over the course of a distinguished career spanning 21 23 years, Colonel Van Dormolen served in faculty, staff, and 22 command positions in both the United States and the Federal 23 Republic of Germany; she taught at the U.S. Military Academy at West 24 Point and was commander of logistics operations units for the

1

1 army's largest military formations, including the famed 1st Cavalry 2 Division; in her final assignment, she served as the assistant 3 chief of staff materiel for the 13th Corps Support Command at Fort 4 Hood; she received numerous decorations, including the Legion of 5 Merit, four Meritorious Service Medal awards, two Army Commendation 6 Medal awards, and two Army Achievement Medal awards; and

7 WHEREAS, Following her retirement, Colonel Van Dormolen 8 established a successful business, Design Technology Group, Inc., with her husband, Lieutenant Colonel (Ret.) Rich Castle; she served 9 10 as chief of staff for Representative Kent Grusendorf during the 77th Texas Legislative Session and has served in myriad leadership 11 12 positions in the Republican Party; the former president of the Texas Federation of Republican Women, she has also served that 13 14 organization as vice president of finance, vice president of 15 legislation, and leadership development chair; she has conducted campaign management seminars for both the TFRW and the National 16 17 Federation of Republican Women, and she presently serves as the National Committeewoman for the Republican Party of Texas; and 18

WHEREAS, In addition to her extensive efforts in behalf of members of the armed forces and her political party, Colonel Van Dormolen holds a gubernatorial appointment to the Texas State Cemetery Committee and is a Rotarian in the Salado Chapter, and she is an endowment member of the National Rifle Association and the Texas State Rifle Association; and

WHEREAS, Borah Van Dormolen has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to her community and to improving the lives of military retirees and the families of military personnel, and she is indeed

2

1 deserving of the prestigious accolade accorded her; now, therefore,
2 be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Lieutenant Colonel Deborah L. Van Dormolen on being named the 2010 Distinguished Military Retiree for Texas and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Colonel Van Dormolen as an expression of high regard by 10 the Texas House of Representatives.

Sheffield

H.R. No. 756

3

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 756 was adopted by the House on March 17, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House