RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A group of San Antonio-area softball players will have the honor of representing the United States in the 2011 Special Olympics World Summer Games taking place in Athens, Greece, June 25 through July 4; and

5 WHEREAS, These players are among the more than 300 athletes 6 who will compete for Team USA in 12 individual and 4 team sports; 7 this is the 13th installment of the games, which draw participants 8 from 185 countries; and

9 WHEREAS, A close-knit squad that has played together for over 10 a decade, the San Antonio softball players have distinguished 11 themselves in district competition and have taken part in the state 12 tournament for eight years; and

WHEREAS, These notable Texans include Daniel Aldrich, Daniel Bena, Jared Crowley, Reed Fatheree, J'Nine Gretz, Justin W. Hansen, Charlie Hoffman, Eric Martinez, Ashley Muth, Vanessa Parra, Brian Perez, Cody W. Porter, and Christian L. Summers; the team is guided by coaches Terry Hansen, Justin Hoffstetter, Ken Porter, and Teresa Sullivan; and

WHEREAS, With their commitment to excellence, the softball players of Team USA will no doubt make a fine showing as they go for the gold in Athens, and all residents of the Lone Star State may take pride in the fact that these outstanding athletes will be playing for our country at the World Summer Games; now, therefore, be it

1

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 2 Legislature hereby honor the softball players and coaches of Team 3 USA and extend to them sincere best wishes for success at the 2011 4 Special Olympics World Summer Games; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared 6 for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of 7 Representatives.

Martinez Fischer

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 775 was adopted by the House on March 10, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House