## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Each year, St. Patrick's Day is celebrated on March 2 17, and this occasion provides an opportunity to honor the origins 3 of the event and to highlight the many contributions that 4 individuals of Irish descent have made to the Lone Star State; and

WHEREAS, Born into a wealthy Romano-British family in the 4th 5 century, St. Patrick was kidnapped at the age of 16 by Irish raiders 6 7 and taken captive to the Emerald Isle; according to his writings, divine intervention allowed him to escape, and he entered the 8 9 priesthood soon after; he later returned to Ireland and spent nearly 30 years teaching the island's residents about his faith, 10 11 thereby becoming the principal champion of Irish Christianity in 12 legend and folklore; St. Patrick's Day, which commemorates the day of his death in 461, has become a celebration of Irish heritage 13 14 around the world, and in recent decades the government of Ireland has made the observance a centerpiece of its efforts to showcase the 15 16 country and its culture; and

WHEREAS, One of the earliest Irish residents of Texas was Hugh O'Connor, who served as governor of the Spanish territory from 1767 to 1770; natives of Ireland also played a central role in the settlement of Texas in the early 1800s, including empresarios James McGloin, John McMullen, and James Power, who brought dozens of Irish families to South Texas and the Gulf Coast; and

23 WHEREAS, All three of these men participated in the Texas 24 Revolution, as did Irishmen such as John Joseph Linn, Francis

1

Moore, Jr., and Thomas William Ward; a dozen individuals from the Emerald Isle died defending the Alamo, and 100 Irish-born troops helped win the independence of Texas in the decisive Battle of San Jacinto; and

5 The number of immigrants from Ireland grew WHEREAS, dramatically in the mid-1800s, and several prominent Irish natives 6 made their mark during that period; Samuel McKinney was an early 7 8 president of Austin College, Father Michael Sheehan established the first Catholic church in Austin and became one of the first 9 10 full-time Catholic chaplains in the U.S. Army, and Peter Gallagher served as a Texas Ranger and helped organize Pecos County; later in 11 12 the 19th century, Irishman John William Mallet served as the first faculty chairman at The University of Texas at Austin, and artist 13 14 Henry Arthur McArdle produced many famous paintings inspired by 15 Texas history, some of which now hang in the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, With the passing decades, additional people from 16 17 Ireland found a new home in Texas, and they and the descendents of previous immigrants have had an enduring influence on the state's 18 19 lifestyle and development; today, Irish culture is celebrated in formal programs such as the Center for Irish Studies at the 20 University of St. Thomas in Houston, as well as in statewide St. 21 Patrick's Day celebrations, and it is appropriate to join with 22 23 thousands of other residents in recognizing the significant role 24 that Irish Americans have played in the story of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it 25

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature hereby pay tribute to the state's vital Irish heritage

2

1 and extend Happy St. Patrick's Day wishes to all Irish Americans.

Murphy Patrick Turner Vo Lucio III

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 786 was adopted by the House on March 17, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House