## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Lung cancer is the leading cause of cancer deaths in
the United States; and

3 WHEREAS, A devastating disease that can afflict anyone 4 regardless of gender or ethnicity, lung cancer is the third most 5 common cause of death in the nation, responsible for one in seven 6 deaths and claiming approximately 160,000 lives per year; and

7 WHEREAS, Lung cancer accounts for 15 percent of all new 8 cancer diagnoses, but 28 percent of all cancer deaths; lung cancer 9 surpassed breast cancer as the number one cancer killer of women in 10 1987, and nearly 25 years later there is still no established 11 protocol for its early detection; about 31,000 more women died of 12 lung cancer than of breast cancer in 2009; and

WHEREAS, Learning the risk factors for lung cancer and other types of cancers can help improve the odds of early detection; risk factors include family history and smoking, and those who smoke are strongly encouraged to take advantage of the many smoking cessation options available today; and

WHEREAS, Texans are observing Lung Cancer Awareness Month in November 2011 in an effort to call attention to these staggering statistics, to help reduce the prevalence of lung cancer among Texans through education, and to raise awareness about options for those seeking to lower their risks; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature hereby recognize November 2011 as Lung Cancer Awareness

1

## 1 Month in Texas.

McClendon

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 792 was adopted by the House on April 4, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House