H.R. No. 801

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Plano Senior High School debate team has 2 advanced to the Elite 8 of the 2010-2011 International Public 3 Policy Forum, a competition that includes many of the best high 4 school teams in the world; and

5 WHEREAS, More than 340 schools entered the 2010-2011 6 tournament, which is sponsored by New York University and the law 7 firm of Bickel & Brewer and is billed as the only international 8 contest where high school students argue public policy in written 9 and oral forms; and

WHEREAS, For the first leg of the competition, teams submitted an essay taking a position on the justification of the NATO intervention in Afghanistan; Plano excelled at this test and was one of the 32 schools to survive to the next round; competing against their opponents via e-mail, the Wildcats have continued their run and are one of eight remaining contenders who will take part in the oral-debate phase of the tournament; and

WHEREAS, That matchup will take place in New York City in April, where the students will vie for the title of world champion and a grand prize of \$10,000; and

20 WHEREAS, The Plano Senior High School debate team has tested 21 its mettle against top-notch rivals from around the world and 22 proven itself a force with which to be reckoned, and these talented 23 and dedicated students may take justifiable pride in becoming one 24 of the Forum's Elite 8 teams; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 801

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the Plano Senior High School debate 3 team on its success in the 2010-2011 International Public Policy 4 Forum and extend to its members sincere best wishes for success in 5 the final portion of the competition; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Taylor of Collin

H.R. No. 801

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 801 was adopted by the House on March 17, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House