RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Forestry Association is sponsoring a
- 2 seedling giveaway at the State Capitol on March 23, 2011; and
- 3 WHEREAS, This initiative promotes public awareness of
- 4 forestry and the importance of the state's timber resources while
- 5 furthering the extensive tree-planting efforts that take place
- 6 throughout the state; each year, family forest owners and the
- 7 forest industry plant 100 million seedlings in order to maintain
- 8 sustainable forests for future generations of Texans; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Covering 12 million acres, the forest sector in East
- 10 Texas generates more than 166,000 jobs, \$8.6 billion in annual
- 11 labor income, and a total economic impact of more than \$33.6
- 12 billion, making timber a valuable agricultural commodity
- 13 statewide; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Founded in 1914 by a group of dedicated
- 15 conservationists, the Texas Forestry Association is a nonprofit
- 16 organization of landowners, businesses, and industry professionals
- 17 united by the common goal of advancing forestry, promoting
- 18 conservation practices, and enhancing and perpetuating the state's
- 19 timber resources; TFA offers programs such as the Sustainable
- 20 Forestry Initiative and Tree Farm, which are designed to educate
- 21 the public and to facilitate the growth of renewable forest
- 22 resources, with the understanding that the best management
- 23 practices are essential for productive forests; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The Texas Forestry Association has tirelessly

- 1 striven to ensure that abundant forests remain a dependable
- 2 resource for the citizens of Texas; under the current and able
- 3 leadership of President Thom Karels, and with the participation of
- 4 its 3,000 dedicated members, the TFA will continue to contribute to
- 5 the economic vitality and beauty of the Lone Star State; now,
- 6 therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby recognize the Texas Forestry Association on the
- 9 occasion of its seedling giveaway and extend to the association
- 10 sincere best wishes for continued success with its reforestation
- 11 efforts; and, be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 13 prepared for the TFA as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 14 House of Representatives.

White

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren	Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman
Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	-

	Speaker of the House		
ıs	adopted by the House on March		

I certify that H.R. No. 812 was adopted by the House on March 17, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House