## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Legendary Texas musician Little Joe Hernandez and

2 his band La Familia added to their long list of accomplishments by

3 winning the Grammy Award for Best Tejano Album at the 53rd annual

4 Grammy Awards on February 13, 2011; and

5 WHEREAS, The award honored the group's album Recuerdos, and

6 it marked the fourth time that Little Joe y La Familia has taken

7 home a gold statuette from The Recording Academy; the band has also

8 received five other Grammy nominations through the years, and these

9 honors are just one measure of the success it has enjoyed in a long

10 and hugely influential career; and

WHEREAS, Born in Temple in 1940, Jose Maria De Leon Hernandez

began performing while still in his teens, and in 1959 became the

13 leader of Little Joe and the Latinaires, a group that also included

14 his younger brother, Jesse; when Jesse was killed in a car accident

15 five years later, Little Joe vowed to bring the dreams they shared

of musical success to fruition, and in the 1960s and early 1970s he

17 and his bandmates began to build a strong following while

18 pioneering an exciting new brand of music; mixing traditional

19 Mexican norteno with elements of country, blues, rock, and big-band

20 swing, their sound helped create the style that would later become

21 known as Tejano; and

12

WHEREAS, In the early 1970s, the ensemble took the name La

23 Familia, as the members more closely embraced their cultural

24 heritage, and Little Joe's songs became anthems of ethnic pride for

- 1 Hispanics throughout the United States and beyond; and
- WHEREAS, Through the decades, this beloved group has released
- 3 more than 50 albums and realized many milestones, including
- 4 becoming the first Tejano act to claim a Grammy, an achievement that
- 5 took place in 1992; in collecting another award in 2011, Little Joe
- 6 y La Familia has demonstrated that its music remains as vital as
- 7 ever, and its leader and members may take justifiable pride in the
- 8 role they have played in furthering the notable musical reputation
- 9 of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby congratulate Little Joe y La Familia on winning
- 12 the Grammy Award for Best Tejano Album at the 53rd annual Grammy
- 13 Awards and extend to Mr. Hernandez and the members of his band
- 14 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 17 House of Representatives.

Sheffield

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 831 was adopted by the House on March 16, 2011, by a non-record vote.

\_\_\_\_\_

Chief Clerk of the House