## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Respected musician and advocate Ray Benson has been 2 named Texan of the Year by the Texas Legislative Conference in 3 recognition of the admirable achievements he has realized through 4 the years; and

5 WHEREAS, With his selection for the award, Mr. Benson is 6 joining a distinguished list of individuals who have been honored 7 by the Texas Legislative Conference; former winners include Barbara 8 Jordan, Laura Bush, and Governor Rick Perry, and the announcement 9 of the Texan of the Year is a highlight of the organization's annual 10 meeting, which brings together business and political leaders from 11 around the state; and

12 WHEREAS, Ray Benson is well known to music fans in the Lone 13 Star State and the world over for his leadership of Asleep at the 14 Wheel, which was founded in 1970 and settled in Austin three years later; specializing in a spirited brand of western swing music, the 15 16 band has released more than 25 albums, won nine Grammy Awards, and entertained concert audiences throughout the United States and 17 beyond during its long career; Mr. Benson has also earned acclaim 18 for cowriting and starring in the play A Ride with Bob, which pays 19 20 tribute to Texas music legend Bob Wills; and

21 WHEREAS, An effective organizer in addition to being a 22 talented artist, Mr. Benson has dedicated himself to assisting 23 others, both inside and outside the music industry; he is a founding 24 member of the Rhythm and Blues Foundation, which raises money to

1

1 help aging R&B artists, as well as the Health Alliance for Austin 2 Musicians and the SIMS Foundation; moreover, he is a member of the 3 board of the St. David's Community Health Foundation and is a 4 trustee for the Texas Chapter of the National Academy of Recording 5 Arts & Sciences; and

6 WHEREAS, This widely admired individual was chosen as the 7 Texas State Musician for 2004 and is a 2011 recipient of the Texas 8 Medal of Arts; he was nominated for Texan of the Year by the Honorable Edmund Kuempel on the night before Representative Kuempel 9 passed away in 2010, and that beloved legislator indeed made a wise 10 choice; over the course of more than 40 years, Ray Benson has 11 distinguished himself through his artistry as well as through his 12 work to strengthen his community and to benefit those in need, and 13 14 he is truly deserving of this prestigious commendation; now, 15 therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 17 Legislature hereby congratulate Ray Benson on his selection as 18 Texan of the Year by the Texas Legislative Conference and extend to 19 him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for Mr. Benson as an expression of high regard by the Texas 22 House of Representatives.

Miller of Comal

2

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 844 was adopted by the House on March 22, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House