RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, In the 1950s, the golf team of San Felipe High School 2 in Del Rio battled adversity and defied expectations to become the 3 best in Texas, and Joe Trevino was an important member of that 4 storied squad; and

5 WHEREAS, The team got its start after J. B. Pena became the 6 superintendent of the San Felipe Independent School District in the 7 mid-1950s, and he and a friend introduced golf as a school sport at 8 San Felipe High; they were surprised and pleased to discover that 9 there were some very talented golfers among the students in the 10 then-segregated school, including Mr. Trevino and the other players 11 that joined the Mustangs golf team; and

12 WHEREAS, These students had learned much about the game while working as caddies at the exclusive San Felipe Country Club, a 13 14 course that they were initially prohibited from playing; determined to take part in the sport, several of these aspiring athletes 15 16 decided in 1954 to build their own course, which they dubbed the El Llanito Country Club; it was, by necessity, a rather crude design: 17 one hole surrounded by multiple tees with a "green" that was 18 actually made of caliche instead of grass; nonetheless, the boys 19 used the hardscrabble course to hone their skills through long 20 21 hours of practice, often playing until after dark; and

22 WHEREAS, After the harsh conditions of El Llanito, the team 23 members found that competing on regulation courses as part of 24 school matches was relatively easy, and they quickly established

1

1 themselves as winners, even as they had to ignore verbal abuse and other forms of discrimination; the San Felipe Mustangs were 2 3 regional champs in 1956 and finished second to Ranger High in the state championships; in 1957, the team qualified once more for the 4 5 finals and traveled to the Austin Country Club to battle for the title, where they were the only minority players in the tournament; 6 there, Mr. Trevino and his teammates turned in an outstanding 7 8 performance, shooting a combined 643; this bested runner-up Shamrock High by 35 strokes and earned San Felipe the state title; 9 10 and

WHEREAS, Mr. Trevino, who won the gold medal as the best 11 12 individual golfer at the tournament, was born in San Angelo; he began to caddy at the age of nine and was soon demonstrating a 13 14 unique talent for the game; after graduating from San Felipe High, 15 he entered civil service; his work took him to California, where he lived until returning to Del Rio after retiring; through the years, 16 17 he competed in various tournaments, including some on the Senior PGA Tour, the Bay Area Tour, and Golden State Tour, and he holds 18 19 several course records in both California and Texas; he continues to play golf, and in 2003 achieved the rare feat of "shooting his 20 age" by posting a score of 64 at the course in Alpine; and 21

22 WHEREAS, Through talent, determination, and ingenuity, Joe 23 Trevino and the other members of the Mustangs golf team overcame 24 difficult circumstances to become state champions, and their 25 achievement is a continuing source of pride for the residents of Del 26 Rio and an inspiration for all who have heard their story; now, 27 therefore, be it

2

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 2 Legislature hereby honor Joe Trevino for his contributions to the 3 title-winning San Felipe High School golf team of 1957 and extend to 4 him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Mr. Trevino as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 891 was adopted by the House on March 24, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House