RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Casie De Luna has been named Firefighter of the Year by the Val Verde County Volunteer Fire Rescue Department, and this honor reflects the high esteem in which she is held by her fellow firefighters; and

5 WHEREAS, Ms. De Luna was just 15 years old when she joined the 6 fire department in 1998, the same year it was first organized; she 7 has since served with great skill in several capacities, both 8 fighting fires on the front lines and handling internal operations; 9 she is the granddaughter of fire chief Jerry Rust, and her husband, 10 Jose De Luna, also volunteers; together, Mr. and Ms. De Luna make up 11 the training team; and

WHEREAS, In addition to her firefighting efforts, Ms. De Luna works full-time as an emergency medical technician at Val Verde Regional Medical Center, and she is studying for her certification as a paramedic; she and her husband are the proud parents of two children; and

WHEREAS, Casie De Luna has earned the respect and admiration of her peers for her dedication, professionalism, and commitment to public safety, and she may indeed take pride in her outstanding contributions to Val Verde County; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Casie De Luna on being named Firefighter of the Year by the Val Verde County Volunteer Fire Rescue Department and extend to her sincere best wishes for

1

1 continued success and happiness; and, be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for Ms. De Luna as an expression of high regard by the 4 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 927 was adopted by the House on April 7, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House