## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud Texans of Chinese descent are joining with 2 ethnic Chinese across the nation and around the world to celebrate 3 the centennial of the Republic of China in Taiwan; and

WHEREAS, On January 1, 2011, a coalition of individuals and 4 5 organizations in Texas known as the ROC-Taiwan Double Ten Centennial Celebration Committee held an inaugural event to kick 6 7 off a yearlong celebration of the founding of the republic; among its highlights will be the observance of the Republic of China 8 National Day on October 10, also known as Double Ten Day; the event 9 commemorates the uprising in the city of Wuchang on that date in 10 11 1911, which led to the overthrow of the Manchu Dynasty; and

WHEREAS, The success of that revolt led to the founding of the Republic of China by Dr. Sun Yat-sen on January 1, 1912; one of the preeminent figures in Chinese history, Dr. Sun played an instrumental role in leading his nation from thousands of years of monarchy to a state founded on modern principles of political philosophy; and

WHEREAS, Throughout its history, the Republic of China in Taiwan has distinguished itself among the nations of the world with its extraordinary progress in business, industry, and education, which has enabled its citizens to enjoy a prosperous life in an open society; the republic has in common with the United States a commitment to free markets, democracy, and civil liberty, as well as the desire to expand cooperation and mutual understanding; and

1

1 WHEREAS, By commemorating this milestone in the history of a 2 great nation, the members of the ROC-Taiwan Double Ten Centennial 3 Celebration Committee honor not only the ideals of Dr. Sun Yat-sen 4 and his commitment to freedom but also a common heritage of 5 incomparable richness that is shared by all people of Chinese 6 descent; now, therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 8 Legislature hereby commemorate the centennial of the founding of 9 the Republic of China in Taiwan and extend to the members of the 10 ROC-Taiwan Double Ten Centennial Celebration Committee sincere 11 best wishes for a successful anniversary year; and, be it further

12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 13 prepared for the members of the committee as an expression of high 14 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Howard of Fort Bend Button

2

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 929 was adopted by the House on April 26, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House