## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas A&M University College of Agriculture and
Life Sciences is celebrating the 100th anniversary of its
establishment in 2011; and

WHEREAS, Officially organized as the School of Agriculture in 4 5 1911, the college has grown from an initial enrollment of 166 to serve some 6,500 students today; offering 40 undergraduate degree 6 programs and over 50 graduate programs in 14 departments, the 7 college graduates more students in agriculturally related fields 8 than anywhere else in the country; in addition, it partners with the 9 four Texas A&M AgriLife agencies to fulfill the university's 10 11 land-grant mission of teaching, research, extension, and service; 12 and

13 WHEREAS, Students in the College of Agriculture and Life 14 Sciences benefit from instruction by a world-class faculty that includes a Nobel Prize laureate and a Pulitzer Prize winner; the 15 college is widely recognized as a leader in a number of academic 16 disciplines, and its programs range from long-established majors 17 such as agronomy and animal science to newer fields of study such as 18 forensics and spatial sciences; moreover, in their research, 19 faculty members address many vital issues, including fuels for the 20 21 future, potential cures for diseases, and the safety and abundance 22 of the food supply; graduates of the school have gone on to distinguish themselves as leaders in science, industry, business, 23 24 and government at the local, state, and national levels; and

1

1 WHEREAS, For a century, the College of Agriculture and Life 2 Sciences has remained committed to meeting the educational needs of 3 its students, and the school has played an integral role in helping 4 many individuals in Texas and beyond build a bright and prosperous 5 future for themselves while contributing to the greater good; now, 6 therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the Texas A&M University College of 8 Agriculture and Life Sciences be honored on the 100th anniversary 9 of its founding and that all those associated with the institution 10 be extended sincere best wishes for the future.

Brown

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 934 was adopted by the House on March 22, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House