RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Hopkins County are gathering in
Austin on March 29, 2011, to celebrate Hopkins County Day at the
State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Hopkins County has an area of 789 square miles with both blackland prairie and piney wood terrain; originally inhabited by the Caddo and then the Cherokee people, the county was created in 1846 and named for a family of pioneers; Sulphur Springs was made the county seat in 1870; and

WHEREAS, Corn, wheat, sheep, and cattle were agriculturally 9 important in the 19th century, but cotton became the dominant crop 10 11 between 1890 and 1930; in 1937 the Carnation Milk Company opened a 12 processing plant in the county, and its presence, in conjunction with better road and rail transportation, allowed dairy farming to 13 14 become the major agricultural undertaking; in 1990 the county boasted nearly 500 dairies supplying 17 percent of the state's 15 total milk; and 16

WHEREAS, Today, Hopkins County has a population of over 35,000, with more than 15,000 people residing in Sulphur Springs; along with dairy production, tourism and food processing and distribution are mainstays of the economy, as are beef cattle and breeding horses; and

22 WHEREAS, Sulphur Springs features a number of popular 23 attractions, including the Southwest Dairy Center and Museum, the 24 Leo St. Clair Music Box Museum, and the Hopkins County Heritage

1

1 Museum and Park; moreover, the area is a well-known center for 2 aquatic recreation, with Lake Fork and Cooper Lake State Park 3 offering opportunities for trophy bass fishing, as well as boating 4 and swimming; bird-watchers, hikers, and campers also seek out the 5 county, and special events like the Texas State Champion Homemade 6 Ice Cream Freeze Off at the Hopkins County Dairy Festival in June 7 are enjoyed by residents and visitors alike; and

8 WHEREAS, Hopkins County is one of the Lone Star State's true 9 treasures, and its citizens justifiably take great pride in the 10 history and character of their splendid communities; now, 11 therefore, be it

12 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 13 Legislature hereby recognize March 29, 2011, as Hopkins County Day 14 at the State Capitol and extend sincere best wishes to the visiting 15 delegation for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Cain

2

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 941 was adopted by the House on March 29, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House