H.R. No. 1018

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Officer Stephen Killingsworth has been named the
2010 Mesquite Police Department Officer of the Year; and

3 WHEREAS, A longtime law enforcement professional, Officer Killingsworth joined the department as a detention officer in 1994; 4 5 he was promoted to police officer four years later, and he currently serves as a field training officer in the operations department; 6 moreover, he works in the Problem Oriented Policing program in 7 District Three; he has earned advanced peace officer proficiency 8 certification from the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer 9 Standards and Education, and he shares his knowledge and skills as a 10 11 TCLEOSE-certified instructor; and

WHEREAS, Officer Killingsworth is the recipient of many 12 departmental honors, including the Life Saving Award, the Safe 13 14 Driving Award, the Perfect Attendance Award, and the Firearms Proficiency Award, and he recently received a commendation from the 15 16 district court for speaking to a group of students during their tour of a Dallas County courtroom; in addition to his police work, he has 17 volunteered with Snowball Express, an organization that supports 18 children of fallen soldiers; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Over the course of his exemplary career, Officer 21 Killingsworth has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to both his 22 profession and his community, and he may indeed take pride in his 23 many accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

1

H.R. No. 1018

1 Legislature hereby congratulate Officer Stephen Killingsworth on 2 being named the 2010 Mesquite Police Department Officer of the Year 3 and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be 4 it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Officer Killingsworth as an expression of high regard 7 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Burkett

H.R. No. 1018

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1018 was adopted by the House on April 7, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House