H.R. No. 1045

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Family and friends will long cherish their memories
of Dr. Bonnie Ann Powers-Prather of Arlington, who died on November
4, 2010, at the age of 60; and

WHEREAS, Bonnie Ann Powers was born in New Orleans on January 20, 1950, to John Frank and Bonnie Neal Powers; at the age of 20, she was among the first class of registered nurses to graduate from Paris Junior College; and

8 WHEREAS, Ms. Powers continued her studies at The University 9 of Texas at Arlington, where she received her bachelor's and 10 master's degrees in nursing; she went on to earn a Ph.D. in 11 statistics from North Texas State University; and

12 WHEREAS, Joined in matrimony to Val Prather, she shared a 13 rewarding marriage with her husband that spanned 30 years, and 14 together they were blessed with three children, Sara Ann, Jude, and 15 Joe; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Powers-Prather initially worked as a registered 16 nurse at St. Joseph's Hospital in Paris and at Cherry Street Nursing 17 Home before moving into nursing education; she distinguished 18 herself during her three decades as a teacher at El Centro College 19 in Dallas; among other achievements, she played a leading role in 20 21 establishing a computerized testing center at the college, which will be renamed in her memory; she also taught statistics at Tarrant 22 23 County College in Ft. Worth; in recognition of her work as an educator, she twice received the Excellence Award from the National 24

1

H.R. No. 1045 1 Institute for Staff and Organizational Development at The 2 University of Texas at Austin; and

3 WHEREAS, A devoted wife and mother, an accomplished 4 professional, and an inspiring teacher and mentor, Bonnie Ann 5 Powers-Prather made a meaningful difference in countless lives, and 6 she will long be fondly remembered by all who were privileged to 7 know her; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 8 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Dr. Bonnie Ann 9 10 Powers-Prather and extend deepest sympathy to the members of her family: to her husband, Val Vance Prather; to her children, Sara Ann 11 12 Chiles Garrett, Jude Prather and his wife, Kathy, and Joseph Prather; to her mother and stepfather, Bonnie and Herman Talley; to 13 14 her brother, Bill Powers, and his wife, Rochelle; to her nephews and 15 nieces, Autumn, Jade, and John Powers, Brian Powers and his wife, Jodell, and their daughter, Evelyn, and Brooke Newman and her 16 17 husband, Sean, and their children, Adrianne and Ava; to her uncles, Robert Powers and his wife, Yvonne, and Jackie Powers and his wife, 18 19 Sheila; to her aunt, Juanita Bowman, and her husband, Thomas; to her brothers-in-law, Jude Prather and his wife, Judy, and Kerry Prather 20 and his wife, Karen, and their respective families; and to her other 21 relatives and friends; and, be it further 22

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for her loved ones and that when the Texas House of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Bonnie Ann Powers-Prather.

Isaac

2

H.R. No. 1045

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1045

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1045 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 2, 2011.

Chief Clerk of the House