H.R. No. 1046

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Asian-Pacific Americans contribute vitally to
- 2 communities across the United States, and the observance of
- 3 Asian-Pacific American Heritage Month in May 2011 offers a fitting
- 4 opportunity to recognize this diverse group of people; and
- 5 WHEREAS, In 1990, President George H. W. Bush expanded the
- 6 annual celebration of Asians and Pacific Islanders in the U.S. from
- 7 the first 10 days of May to the entire month; May was chosen to
- 8 commemorate the immigration of the first Japanese to the United
- 9 States on May 7, 1843, and to mark the May 10, 1869, anniversary of
- 10 the completion of the transcontinental railroad, which was built in
- 11 large part by Chinese immigrants; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Since the early waves of Asian immigrants in the
- 13 19th century, people from throughout the Asian continent and the
- 14 Pacific Islands have made the United States their home;
- 15 Asian-Pacific Americans number more than 15 million and have
- 16 distinguished themselves through their service in the U.S.
- 17 military, their business and professional endeavors, their
- 18 community involvement, their cultural traditions, and their strong
- 19 bonds of family; and
- WHEREAS, Asian-Pacific Americans have made a positive and
- 21 lasting difference to the Lone Star State and the country as a
- 22 whole, and the celebration of Asian-Pacific American Heritage Month
- 23 acknowledges and promotes the immeasurable benefits of living in a
- 24 truly diverse society; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1046

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize May 2011 as Asian-Pacific American
- 3 Heritage Month and encourage all citizens to learn more about the
- 4 history and achievements of Asian-Pacific Americans.

Button Thompson Vo Taylor of Collin Howard of Fort Bend

H.R. No. 1046

Aliseda	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen	Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat
Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles	Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Geren	Miles	Workman
<u> </u>	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas
Gonzales of midalyo	HITTEL OF FLACIL	7CT MQ2

	H.R. No. 1046
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1046 wa	as adopted by the House on May 4,
2011, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House