H.R. No. 1077

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Huston-Tillotson University Concert Choir is 2 performing on April 10, 2011, at Trinity United Methodist Church in 3 Houston; and

WHEREAS, Sponsored annually by the local chapter of the Huston-Tillotson International Alumni Association, the performance will showcase numerous classical and gospel pieces and promises to be a moving experience for all those in attendance; and

WHEREAS, The history of Huston-Tillotson University dates 8 back more than a century to the founding of Tillotson College by the 9 American Missionary Association of the Congregational churches and 10 11 of Samuel Huston College by the United Methodist Church, both of 12 which served to educate the African American community; the two schools merged in 1952, and Huston-Tillotson University has 13 14 continued to provide an exemplary education grounded in the liberal arts and sciences, balanced with professional development, and 15 16 directed to public service and leadership; and

WHEREAS, Home to an increasingly diverse population, the school awards undergraduate degrees in business, education, the humanities, natural sciences, social sciences, and science and technology, and it has a vibrant intercollegiate athletics program; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Huston-Tillotson Concert Choir distinguish themselves through their talent and dedication, and it is indeed a pleasure to recognize the group at this time; now,

1

H.R. No. 1077

1 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby honor the Huston-Tillotson University Concert Choir on the occasion of its annual Houston concert and extend sincere best wishes to all those in attendance for an enjoyable and memorable event; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the Huston-Tillotson University Concert Choir as an
expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 1077

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1077 was adopted by the House on April 14, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House