H.R. No. 1078

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The boys' basketball team of West Oso High School in 2 Corpus Christi ended its season in triumph by capturing the 3 University Interscholastic League 3A state championship with a 4 victory in the title game on March 12, 2011; and

5 WHEREAS, Playing in front of 10,688 spectators at the Frank 6 Erwin Center in Austin, the Bears battled Burkburnett High School 7 in the tournament final; West Oso trailed by 8 points at halftime 8 but roared back in the second half with a spirited rally to win by a 9 score of 61-57; Raymond Robinson was named the game's most valuable 10 player after leading the team with 26 points; and

11 WHEREAS, Standout performances were also delivered by Willie 12 Harper, who scored 17 points and had 8 rebounds, and Robert Watson 13 and Brandon Scott, whose strong rebounding helped the Bears to 14 dominate the action under the boards; and

15 WHEREAS, Excelling with a true team effort, West Oso also 16 received valuable contributions throughout the season from the 17 other members of the roster: Chantze Avery, LaDaniel Marshall, 18 Keith Thompson, William Enriquez, Brandon Grant, Davon Fox, Jerome 19 Blankenship, and Andrew Lopez; working together, the squad's 20 determined athletes closed out the year with 23 consecutive 21 victories and posted an overall record of 35-3; and

22 WHEREAS, Guided by head coach Arnold Flores and assistant 23 coaches Wendell Avery, Anthony Odom, Joe Sanchez, Karl Turk, and 24 David Zapien, the Bears have inspired enormous pride and excitement

1

1 among their supporters, and this landmark season has focused 2 well-deserved attention on West Oso High and its fine athletic 3 programs; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate the West Oso High School boys'
basketball team on winning the 2011 UIL 3A state championship and
extend to the players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for
continued success; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 11 House of Representatives.

Torres

H.R. No. 1078

2

H.R. No. 1078

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1078

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1078 was adopted by the House on April 7, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House