H.R. No. 1111

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Words cannot adequately express the sorrow felt at 2 the loss of Officer Karl R. McDonough of the El Paso Police 3 Department, who died in the line of duty on October 13, 2010, at the 4 age of 41; and

5 WHEREAS, Karl McDonough was born on April 5, 1969, to Paul and 6 Nancy McDonough; he answered his nation's call to duty with service 7 in the U.S. Army from 1987 to 1995, including a tour of duty in the 8 Persian Gulf; and

9 WHEREAS, Returning to civilian life, Mr. McDonough attended 10 the El Paso Police Academy and received his commission as a peace 11 officer in 2007; he worked the graveyard shift at the Pebble Hills 12 Regional Command Center, where he earned the respect and admiration 13 of his peers; and

14 WHEREAS, Officer McDonough was dedicated to protecting his 15 fellow citizens, especially those least capable of protecting 16 themselves, and though he was taken far too soon, he leaves behind a 17 legacy of service that will continue to inspire all those who knew 18 and loved him; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 20 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Officer Karl R. 21 McDonough and extend sincere condolences to the members of his 22 family: to his wife, Alicia Rebecca McDonough; to his children, 23 Kaylum, Keeshaw, and Paulina McDonough, and his stepson, Rene 24 Grijalva; to his parents, Paul and Nancy McDonough; to his brother,

1

H.R. No. 1111 1 Terry McDonough; and to his other relatives and friends; and, be it 2 further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 5 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Karl R. 6 McDonough.

Marquez

H.R. No. 1111

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1111

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1111 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 14, 2011.

Chief Clerk of the House