RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Pearland High School football team finished a
- 2 perfect 16-0 season by winning the University Interscholastic
- 3 League 5A Division 1 state championship for 2010; and
- WHEREAS, The Oilers claimed the title on December 18, 2010,
- 5 at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, when they squared off against the
- 6 No. 1 team in the nation, Trinity High School of Euless; in a battle
- 7 of unbeaten squads, Pearland denied Trinity its fourth championship
- 8 in six seasons, holding off a late charge for the 28-24 victory in
- 9 front of more than 40,000 fans; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Earlier in the playoffs, the Oilers also defeated
- 11 another nationally ranked team, downing No. 5-rated Katy High
- 12 School 38-35 on a touchdown pass from Trey Anderson to Sam Ukwuachu
- 13 with just 47 seconds left on the clock; over the course of the
- 14 season, Pearland averaged more than 40 points per game and broke the
- 15 school record for total points in a season; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Mr. Anderson set a number of team passing marks in
- 17 2010, including those for single season and career yardage and
- 18 single season touchdown passes; another standout performance was
- 19 turned in by Dustin Garrison, who rushed for 2,827 yards and scored
- 20 51 touchdowns, setting two additional Pearland records; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Winning with a true team effort, the Oilers also
- 22 received valuable contributions from the other members of the
- 23 squad: Chris Alexander, Zachary Almarez, Brandon Barber, Michael
- 24 Barstow, J'Michael Berry, Robert Blanco, Kevin Brantley, Chance

- 1 Campbell, Cody Claunch, Chad Cobb, Cody Cole, Caleb Collins, Kalon
- 2 Collins, Eric Cooper, Ashton Duffy, Kendall Ehrlich, Dorian
- 3 Escobar, Christopher Gaffney, Justin Gallagher, Jacob Garner, John
- 4 Gibberman, Turner Glasgow, Matthew Gonzales, Johnathan Hardy, Jr.,
- 5 Tyler Helaire, Charleston Higginbotham, Derek Hoffpauir, Shariq
- 6 Hossain, Robert Jackson, Darryl Jimerson, Bobby Johnson, Cody
- 7 Jones, Darius Jordan, Myles Kanipes, Austin Lucht, Scott May,
- 8 William Messenger, JeVante Mitchell, Kyle Mulligan, Dylan Nowak,
- 9 Seth Ordeneaux, Vincent Ortiz, Tyler Osburn, Kendahl Phagan,
- 10 Cameron Pool, Dominic Rabago, Jessie Rayford, DyQuan Roberts,
- 11 Michael Roberts, Jackie Robinson, Cory Rowlee, Fermin Sanchez,
- 12 Marquis Sandles, Cody Sandman, Adam Saunders, Zachary Schroeder,
- 13 Cole Staudt, Marquis Swinton, Azeon Thomas, Juan Trujillo, Kevin
- 14 Washington, Daniel Weiskopf-Davila, Desoto White, and Chris
- 15 Wimberly; and
- WHEREAS, The team received essential guidance from head coach
- 17 Tony Heath, defensive coordinator Mark Kanipes, offensive
- 18 coordinator Jeremy Beeson, and the entire assistant coaching staff:
- 19 Matthew Bentley, James Farmer, Jason Glenn, Brian Hokett, Marwan
- 20 Singleton, Kody Chandler, Dwayne Evans, Mike Norman, Phillip
- 21 Roberts, and Robert Terrasas; and
- WHEREAS, Pearland High's football players demonstrated
- 23 admirable skill and determination in winning the state title and
- 24 achieving a perfect record against top competition, and these
- 25 talented student-athletes will forever treasure the memory of these
- 26 outstanding accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
- 27 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate the Pearland High School football
- 2 team on winning the 2010 UIL 5A Division 1 state championship and
- 3 extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best
- 4 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Weber

	H.R. No. 1123
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1123 was	adopted by the House on April
1, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

, 2011, by a non-record vote.