RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Representatives from Texas State Technical College 2 are visiting the State Capitol on April 7, 2011, and this occasion 3 provides a fitting opportunity to honor this notable institution; 4 and

WHEREAS, Established in 1965, the Texas State Technical 5 College System today includes TSTC Harlingen, TSTC Marshall, TSTC 6 Waco, and TSTC West Texas, which has campuses in Abilene, 7 Breckenridge, Brownwood, and Sweetwater; TSTC is the only 8 9 state-supported two-year technical college system in Texas, and its mission is to help the Lone Star State meet the high-tech challenges 10 11 of the current global economy; the colleges in the system partner 12 with businesses, government agencies, and other colleges to provide students with highly specialized technical-vocational courses and 13 14 occupation-oriented training programs that meet the rising demands of Texas industry; and 15

WHEREAS, With more than 120 associate of applied science 16 degree and certificate options, TSTC serves nearly 15,000 students 17 in credit programs alone, and over its 45-year history it has 18 graduated more than 82,000 students from diverse cultural and 19 socioeconomic backgrounds; TSTC students come from 221 of the 254 20 21 counties in Texas, and many of them have lived in rural areas with 22 limited access to other institutions of higher education or 23 workforce training; in addition to offering high-quality instruction to these students, TSTC provides an affordable option 24

1

1 for them; and

2 WHEREAS, The Texas State Technical College System is 3 committed to helping its students become skilled leaders in 4 tomorrow's workforce, and its efforts are contributing greatly to 5 the educational and economic development of our state; now, 6 therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 8 Legislature hereby recognize April 7, 2011, as Texas State 9 Technical College Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those 10 associated with the system sincere best wishes for continued 11 success; and, be it further

12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 13 prepared for TSTC as an expression of high regard by the Texas House 14 of Representatives.

> Anderson of McLennan Keffer Hughes King of Taylor Lozano Lucio III

2

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1167 was adopted by the House on April 7, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House