H.R. No. 1181

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Taylor Levy of Wichita Falls won first place in the 2 2010-2011 Texas Veterans of Foreign Wars Voice of Democracy essay 3 competition; and

WHEREAS, A 17-year-old senior at S. H. Rider High School, Ms. 4 5 Levy was chosen over nearly 2,000 other Texas high school students for her entry about the challenges facing her generation; she 6 argues in her essay that, for all their differences with earlier 7 generations, young people today share the innately American values 8 9 of a strong work ethic, ingenuity, and unity of spirit that will enable them to play an important part in the continuing progress of 10 11 our nation; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Levy was sponsored by Burkburnett Memorial Post 13 10455 of the VFW, and in recognition of her achievement she received 14 a \$6,000 scholarship from the Texas Motorcycle Group; in addition, 15 this outstanding young Texan's state victory qualified her to 16 represent Texas at the national Voice of Democracy competition in 17 Washington, D.C., in March 2011, where she was recognized with the 18 \$2,000 Cramer/Harrell Scholarship Award; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Levy stated in her essay that her generation "has already begun to play a role in America's future," and her success in the VFW contest exemplifies the type of insight and commitment that will allow her generation to make a positive difference in the world as they embrace their responsibilities as engaged citizens; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1181

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Taylor Levy on winning first place 3 in the 2010-2011 Texas VFW Voice of Democracy essay contest and 4 extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success and 5 happiness; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Ms. Levy as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Lyne

H.R. No. 1181

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1181 was adopted by the House on April 14, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House