RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Texans everywhere are indebted to the courageous men
- 2 and women of the law enforcement profession who, by their selfless
- 3 dedication to the public welfare, have enabled us to enjoy the
- 4 benefits of a peaceful and orderly society; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Too seldom recognized and often taken for granted by
- 6 the public they so faithfully serve, these gallant individuals
- 7 daily risk their lives in order to ensure domestic tranquility and
- 8 to protect the lives and property of others; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Trooper Jonathan T. McDonald of the Texas Department
- 10 of Public Safety exemplified in his personal and professional
- 11 conduct the admirable virtues of courage, integrity, and unwavering
- 12 dedication; and
- WHEREAS, Throughout his 2 years and 2 months on the force, he
- 14 garnered a record of meritorious service, loyalty, bravery, and
- 15 self-sacrifice consistent with the highest ideals of the law
- 16 enforcement profession; and
- WHEREAS, Killed in the line of duty on November 15, 2010,
- 18 Trooper McDonald will long be missed by his family, his fellow peace
- 19 officers, and the entire community; and
- WHEREAS, Through the years, the notable legacy of Trooper
- 21 McDonald will endure and continue to be a source of inspiration for
- 22 those who follow in this difficult but essential profession; now,
- 23 therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Trooper Jonathan T.
- 2 McDonald of the Texas Department of Public Safety and extend
- 3 deepest sympathy to his family, friends, and fellow officers; and,
- 4 be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 7 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Trooper
- 8 McDonald.

Fletcher

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1218 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 14, 2011.

Chief Clerk of the House